Marshall Islands

The Marshall Islands is made up of two archipelagic chains with a total of 29 atolls, each atoll having a number of islands. 

The most common greeting here is iakwe, pronounced “hawk-way” and translates to “You are a rainbow”.

The Marshall Islands are located in Oceania, with a population of 58 thousand people. Its capital is Majuro, and the currency is the United States Dollar (USD). The official languages spoken are Marshallese and English.

They celebrate many holidays including:

It has one world heritage site: 

  1. Bikini Atoll Nuclear Test Site

Want to learn more? Check out the Marshall Islands tourism website.

Also check out the Marshal Islands Cultural Center and the Alele Archives for additional information.

Fun activities to do

To download the flag and map:

  1. Click on the image
  2. Right-click and select Save Image As…

Also try making a postcard and it’s stamp! Try filling in your suitcase for the trip!