Togo consists of six geographic regions. The low-lying, sandy beaches of the narrow coastal region are backed by tidal flats and shallow lagoons, the largest of which is Lake Togo. Beyond the coast lies the Ouatchi Plateau, which stretches about 20 miles (32 km) inland at an elevation of some 200 to 300 feet (60 to 90 metres). 

Among the smallest countries in Africa, Togo enjoys one of the highest standards of living on the continent owing to its valuable phosphate deposits and a well-developed export sector based on agricultural products such as coffee, cocoa beans, and peanuts (groundnuts).

Togo is in Western Africa, with a population of 7.62 million people. Its capital is Lomé, and their currency is CFA Franc. The official language in Togo is French. 

They celebrate many holidays including:

It has one world heritage site which is Koutammakou, the Land of the Batammariba.

It also has four national parks:

  1. Abdoulaye Faunal Reserve
  2. Fazao Malfakassa National Park
  3. Fosse aux Lions National Park
  4. Kéran National Park

Want to learn more? Check out Togo’s tourism website!

Also check out the Togo National Museum

Fun activities to do

To download the flag and map:

  1. Click on the image
  2. Right-click and select Save Image As…

Also try making a postcard and it’s stamp! Try filling in your suitcase for the trip!