French Polynesia

French Polynesia is in Oceania, with a population of 276,000 people. The capital of French Polynesia is Pape’ete. The currency used is the CFP Franc (XPF). The official languages in French Polynesia are French, Tahitian, Austral, Raivavae, Mangareva, Tuamotuan, and Marquesan.

French Polynesia is made up of 118 islands and 5 archipelagos (a group or chain of small islands). The country is considered to be a semi-autonomous territory of France and was first annexed in 1880.

They celebrate many holidays including:

It does not have any world heritage sites, but it does have many nature areas, including:

  1. Matira Beach
  2. Fautaua Waterfall
  3. Mount Otemanu
  4. Point Venus
  5. Lagoonarium

Want to learn more? Check out French Polynesia’s tourism website!

Also check out the Museum of Tahiti and the Islands for extra information about French Polynesia!

Fun activities to do

To download the flag and map:

  1. Click on the image
  2. Right-click and select Save Image As…

Also try making a postcard and it’s stamp! Try filling in your suitcase for the trip!